Untitled.doc

Incase my last post confused you, I was talking about Arsenal. I’m a long term sufferer. I remember the invincible year. Ah yes, a great time indeed – we could go into school after the weekend with a swagger, us Arsenal fans. Tottenham? Pfft! Henry would tear you to shreds!

At least I can say I enjoyed it while it lasted.

Anyway, that’s not what this post is about. This is a ramble.

“Oh brilliant, I love a good ramble!” I hear you say.

“Calm yourself, your enthusiasm is exuberant!” I say with a chuckle.

I digress.

What do I like to do?

There’s a horrible danger of sounding incredibly narcissistic here – but wait!

This is as much a place for me to lay my thoughts on a virtual page as it is a place for you to either kill a bit of time or sit through because you’re a family member and it’d be rude if you didn’t.

My interests are varied. They often span the extreme reaches of their respective spectrums. To best illustrate this, on any given day, I could be listening to Avenged Sevenfold and Linkin Park. The next, Frank Sinatra and Benny Goodman’s Sing, Sing, Sing.

I like people (I do), but I also like to be on my own sometimes.

I’m fairly health conscious, but I’d mill a pizza with ease if the option is there.

So, yeah. Writing that made me think I have split personalities that are the opposite of each other – in an endless game of tug of war where there’s no middle ground. The quiet, swing music listening side wins the war when I’m too busy head-banging. The head banging and pizza eating side wins when I’m just not bothered.

Don’t worry, that doesn’t make sense to me either. Sometimes it’s best I don’t say things.

This blog is probably a terrible idea.

Maple Leafs eh?

I really like ice hockey. My team is the Maple Leafs. Why? Well I wanted to follow a team that were rebuilding, not one that was expected to win. They hired Red Wings ex-coach Mike Babcock, of who I am a big fan. Location was also important. It had to be a team on EST if I was to stand a chance of watching any games live. Finding a connection with a North American team can be hard when you grew up in Ireland and lived in the UK. I watched lots of documentaries about the Maple Leafs and wanted to learn about their history, so I could become fully invested in the team. I was pleasantly surprised to learn that the Toronto Maple Leafs were once the Toronto St. Pats. Perfect! Granted it is a loose connection, but a connection none-the-less.

The main reason was the coaching staff and their vision for the team. The investment in new talent and the passion of an amazing city (yet to visit, but I’ve a huge interest in Toronto and Canada as a place, regardless of sport).

I was excited and rearing to go this season. First draft pick Auston Matthews has been a phenomena, as have Nylander and Marner. Anderson in net has been great too.

This season, the first since 2013, the Leafs made the playoffs. Exciting times.

I love football and ice hockey as sports but the statistical and analytical side of it excites me more than it should. I love watching tactical plays as they develop, and reading about stats. This goes for football and ice hockey. It might be the nerd inside me but it makes the games so much more exciting and interesting. It’s a huge part of what makes them so enjoyable. There is immense physical ability involved in both sports but also a massively understated intelligence in terms of tactics.

Video Games

Everyone likes games right? Unless you’re a right wing radical who thinks they’re the reason for mass murders, not the stupidly accessible military grade weapons available for purchase (don’t get me started…).

They bring back memories and they transport you away from reality. Hence my Twitch channel that I’ve been trying to grow.

With full time work and general life, it can be hard to spend time doing the things you enjoy. For me, Twitch has given me that excuse to enjoy games again. Plus, the community is amazingly supportive. It’s brilliant!

Film and Television

I love film and TV too. I write scripts in my spare time. I was lucky enough to get as far as talking with Sky – carrying out rewrites based on their notes – before they realised I had no agent. That left a bruise on the face.

The door shut fairly fast, and hard.

Still, I enjoy the process of writing a story. My current job has somewhat robbed me of joy and creativity (the drama) but I hope that the move will inspire me again, and I can do more of what I enjoy.

My favourite films are Saving Private Ryan and Jurassic Park incase you care. Stunning films. Jurassic Park was my childhood. It defined me for a large portion of my life. It was the adventure, the action and the dinosaurs of course.

Adventuring is something I’d like to do more of.

As for TV – I like dramas like The Sopranos, Breaking Bad, The Killing and Better Call Saul. I like comedies too. The IT Crowd, Father Ted, Rick and Morty, South Park, Family Guy – these are all things you’ll find me annoyingly quoting on a regular basis. I’ll also quote and overuse internet videos, like the Apparently Kid and the Kazoo Kid.

Oh, and that guy who says “Watch your profanity.” What a great guy.

I’ll leave it there. I feel pretentious like a vlogger who needs to grab a dictionary and look up the definition of the word “literally.”

If you’ve made it this far…

//giphy.com/embed/l3q2wJsC23ikJg9xe

via GIPHY

Sorry.

Leave a comment